Nina's Hooks

Friday Inspiration 1: Motifs and Tassels

Hello lovely readers! I have been neglecting the blog lately, mainly because I’ve been crocheting up some more baby blankets, but I wanted to post a little something about what’s been inspiring me lately.

I don’t think I’ve really posted about jewelry yet, but I love making crochet earrings (I’ll post about that at a later date). I’ve never really ventured into charms for necklaces, but I stumbled upon this pin from Free People:

free people crochet garland

It’s actually a crochet garland, but I really liked the thought of a small motif and tassel for a necklace. I’ve recently seen some boutiques selling tassel necklaces similar to something like this, and I thought I could somehow mash the two together.

I searched for some triangular motifs, mainly granny triangles, but I didn’t like how some of them looked. So instead I found a granny stitch hexagon motif on Lion Brand’s Stitchfinder. I modified the pattern a bit to make it more triangular, and the outcome was actually quite pretty.

I’m not going to upload a picture of it yet, because I still need to work out the tassel, find some chain and look through my beads to add a little something extra. I made my first motif in a single, natural color, but I think the tassel would be fun in a bright color. I’m also thinking of making the motif in two colors, like the motif in the garland.

Aside from the necklace, I’ve been bouncing around some ideas for a crochet flower crown (like the flower crowns you might see around Coachella). I really want to start making some different flower motifs, and I’m really inspired by the motifs in attic24’s seasonal wreaths. This is probably going to be one of those fringe, long-term projects, but I’m curious to see how it would work out.

And, of course, I’m still thinking about what baby things to make next. I’ve got one completed blanket and another blanket that needs a little fixing (the ends are unraveling…sigh). I have about 5 skeins of Lion Brand’s Modern Baby yarn that I was going to use for another project, but I re-designated it for actual baby things. I’m a little disheartened after the one blanket began to come apart, so I’m not sure if I want to use it for a third blanket or if I want to use it for booties and hats. I mean, there’s quite a lot of yarn. I also want to make some nice pacifier clips, but I’m not sure if I want to use this yarn for something like that. Maybe it’ll come to me after I fix the unraveled mess sitting in the other room.

What has been inspiring you all? Share your thoughts and project ideas in the comments!

I hope you have a great weekend! And I’ll work on posting regularly again.
-Katie

Leave a Reply

