striped block

Happy National Crochet Month!

It’s officially March (finally), which means it’s the start of National Crochet Month! Actually I just found out that was a thing today, but nevertheless I am really excited and motivated to finish some old and start some new projects this month.

I’ll be kicking off NatCroMo by finishing a baby blanket I started this past week for a family friend. It’s actually a really awesome pattern I found from Lion Brand called the Next Generation Afghan. It’s such a nice, simple blanket, and it uses one of my favorite Lion Brand yarns, Heartland. I replaced the gray in the blanket with blue because the family liked blue for their new, sweet baby boy.

baby blanket squares

I’m about halfway through and just finished my first striped square, but there are only nine squares so it won’t be long until it is done. Also the blue is much brighter and more brilliant in person, but it’s not a “baby blue.” I thought a different blue would be really nice and work well into his childhood…so it won’t be just a baby blanket. I think that when I’m finished with this one I’ll try to make another for my cousin, who also just had a baby boy, but using Star Wars-esque colors (how awesome is that for a baby theme?!).

My one big dilemma with this blanket is that I really don’t know how I should block it. Should I hand wash it with some baby-safe laundry detergent when I’m finished, or maybe each block before I sew them together? Or should I just wet block? I’ve only made one baby blanket before, and that was a long time ago when I first started out crocheting and knew nothing about blocking. If you have any suggestions please leave them in the comments!

Have a great week, and happy NatCroMo!!
-Katie

P.S. You can check out the Crochet Guild of America to learn a little bit more about National Crochet Month!

Leave a Reply

